Swimming New Zealand homepage

The start of something extraordinary

Swimming New Zealand elects new Board Chairman

Auckland businessman Bruce Cotterill has been elected as Swimming New Zealand’s new Board Chairman, announced at the Annual General Meeting in Auckland at the weekend.

Mr Cotterill, who has been Deputy Chair since 2012, takes over from Wellington’s Brent Layton who has completed his three-year tenure as the inaugural Chair after the 2012 IWG Review. He has a long involvement in aquatics as a competitor and administrator in swimming, surf lifesaving and triathlon, and is currently a director of a number of major companies. Current Board member Geoff Brown from Wellington has been elected Deputy Chair.

Two new Board members were announced in Waikato’s Simon Perry and Anna Tootill.

Perry is well known in the sport sector and has been involved with Swimming Waikato and Cycling New Zealand, where he is the current Chairman. He is chairman of the Perry Group that he ran as CEO for 15 years. He is also chairman of the Te Awa Charitable Trust, currently building the 70km Waikato Te Awa Cycle Trail, and is a sports enthusiast.

Tootill has been actively involved in surf lifesaving as a competitor and as a trainer of junior lifeguards. Her business expertise lies in the accounting, legal and tax environment and she has recently been appointed to Sport New Zealand’s Women in Governance Mentor programme.

Well-known Canterbury administrator and official Lesley Huckins becomes Swimming New Zealand’s new President, taking over from John Mace, who has completed his maximum three years in the role.

Huckins has been actively involved in the administration, coaching and officiating for over 30 years after early life as a competitive swimmer. She was one of four senior referees at this year’s FINA World Swimming Championships in Russia.

Members of the swimming community were recognised for their services to the sport as follows:

Outstanding service to the sport not less than 22 years: Honours Awards presented to Daphne Loader (Otago) and Shona Martin (Hawkes Bay/Poverty Bay)

Service Awards: Claudia Hill (Auckland), Glen Hamblyn (Auckland), Tim Draisey (Auckland), Huia Roera Mikara (Canterbury West Coast), Jennifer Carol Jones (Canterbury West Coast), Peter Burgeon (Canterbury West Coast), Trudi Astwood (Hawkes Bay/Poverty Bay), Carlrine Gillespie (Northland), Sharon Arlidge (Taranaki), Russell Strange (Waikato), Stuart Woods (Waikato), Valerie Strange (Waikato), Graham Seagull (Wellington) , Greg Forsythe (Wellington), Jacqui Forsythe (Wellington), Mark Berge (Wellington), Matt Meehan (Wellington), and Sandra Turner (Wellington).

Swimming Awards:

New Zealand Swimming Trust Zonal Emerging Swimmers: Harlequins- Annabelle Paterson; AquaKnights – Bobbi Gichard; All Stars – Mya Rasmussen; Makos – Kyra Forrest.

New Zealand Swimming Trust Zonal Emerging Swimmer of the Year: Bobbi Gichard (Greendale Swim Club).

International Swimmer of the Year: Lauren Boyle (United Swimming Club).

National Swimmer of the Year: Lauren Boyle.

Open Water Swimmer of the Year: Kane Radford (Swim Rotorua)

Swimmer of the Year With a Disability: Mary Fisher (Capital Swim Club)

Relay Team of the Year: Women 4x200m freestyle (Commonwealth Games): Lauren Boyle, Samantha Lucie-Smith, Samantha Lee, Emma Robinson.

Performance Swimming Club of the Year: North Shore Swimming Club.

Volunteer of the Year: Lisa Rowe (Otumoetai Swim Club)

Bill Batson Technical Official of the Year: Christine Cassin (Halswell Swim Club)

Swimming Coach of the Year: Sue Southgate (Aquabladz New Plymouth)

New Zealand Swimmer of the Year: Lauren Boyle.