Swimming New Zealand homepage

The start of something extraordinary

Five Swimmers Named as Nominees for Halberg Awards

The success of New Zealand athletes on the world stage during 2013 has resulted in 58 official nominations for the 51st Westpac Halberg Awards. Triple world championship medallist Lauren Boyle is a strong contender for the New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year Award which is hotly contested amongst eight nominees including Lisa Carrington, Lydia Ko and Valerie Adams.

Swimming is also well represented in the Disabled Sportsperson Award with Cameron Leslie, Mary Fisher, and Nikita Howarth joining previous winner Sophie Pascoe in the nominations to take the total to four swimmers in this category. Their competition includes four Blind Bowlers, two Para Sailing crews, a Para Snowboarder, and Para Cyclist.

A Voting Academy of 30 former athletes, coaches and media representatives will now vote to determine the finalists which are announced on January 1st 2014. Outstanding performances by individual athletes or teams are still considered until December 31st 2013.

Award winners will be announced at the 51st Westpac Halberg Awards at Vector Arena, Auckland, on Thursday 13 February, 2014.  

High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year

Emma Twigg (Rowing), Lauren Boyle (Swimming), Linda Villumsen (Cycling), Lisa Carrington (Canoeing), Lydia Ko (Golf), Melissa Timperley (Taekwon-Do), Suzie Bates (Cricket), Valerie Adams (Athletics).

Halberg Disability Sport Foundation Disabled Sportsperson of the Year

Cameron Leslie (Para Swimming), Carl Murphy (Para-Snowboarding), David Monk (Blind Bowling), Emma Foy and Gabrielle Vermunt (pilot) (Para Cycling), James Dunn (Blind Bowling), Mary Fisher (Para Swimming), Mike Johnson (Para Shooting), Mixed Pairs - Sue Curran and James Dunn (Blind Bowling), Nikita Howarth (Para Swimming), Sophie Pascoe (Para Swimming), Sue Curran (Blind Bowling), Team New Zealand Class B2 (Para Sailing), Team New Zealand Class B3 (Para Sailing).