Swimming New Zealand homepage

The start of something extraordinary

PR 107- FINA/airweave Swimming World Cup 2016 includes 9 events in three clusters

FINA is pleased to announce the calendar of the FINA/airweave Swimming World Cup 2016, running from August through October 2016, and distributing over US$ 2 million in prize money (2’178’000), making it the world’s richest annual swimming series. The prize money will be distributed as follows:

  • USD 102’000 at each of the 9 meets (Sub-total USD 918’000)
  • USD 300’000 at each of the 3 clusters (Sub-total USD 900’000)
  • USD 180’000 for the 3 highest ranked Men & Women swimmers (Sub-total USD 360’000)

In addition, World Record Bonuses of USD10’000 will be awarded for each new World Record during the series.

For 2016, this prestigious FINA circuit will return to the 25m-pool, and will comprise nine meets, with one more European stop than in 2015, distributed into three clusters. Each meet will include 34 individual events on the two-day programme.

Shortly after the conclusion of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, the world’s elite swimmers will travel to Paris-Chartres in France to compete in the initial leg of the series on August 26-27. Three days later, a comeback in the circuit– Berlin (GER) – will welcome the stars. The first cluster will then conclude with a last European rendezvous in Moscow (RUS).

The competition will then proceed to the second cluster with events in Beijing (CHN), Dubai (UAE) and Doha (QAT).

Finally the World Cup 2016 will come to an end in Asia with three stops in Singapore (SIN), Tokyo (JPN) and Hong Kong (HKG).

The complete calendar of the FINA/airweave Swimming World Cup 2016 is as follows:

Cluster 1

Cluster 2

Cluster 3

August 26-27
September 30 - Oct 1
October 21-22
August 30-31*
October 4-5
October 25-26
September 3-4
October 8-9
October 29-30

*to be confirmed

“The calendar of this 2016 edition of the Swimming World Cup is definitely attractive as we are working with prestigious hosts and top-level venues. FINA will ensure that everything is in place to welcome the world’s best swimming athletes to recognise and pay tribute to their continuous efforts and outstanding performances. The FINA/airweave Swimming World Cup has grown in important within the international aquatic calendar and the competition has become a key yearly rendezvous tailored around regional clusters which give the importunity to athletes all over the world to take part.”, considered FINA President Dr. Julio C. Maglione.

airweave, the leading brand for bedding toppers worldwide continues as Title Partner of the series; the Official Series Swimwear sponsor is Speedo, and the Official Timekeeper is FINA’s long-term partner, Omega.

Aquatics fans can look forward to a host of star swimmers looking to challenge Katinka Hosszu (HUN) and Cameron Van Der Burgh (RSA), the overall winners of the 2015 edition of the FINA/airweave Swimming World Cup.