Swimming New Zealand homepage

The start of something extraordinary

Strong Harlequins team to defend NZ Zonal Championship title

Swimmers from nine clubs throughout the Counties Manukau, Auckland and Northland regions have been selected to represent the Harlequins swim team for the third edition of the New Zealand Zonal Championships.

With the generous support of the Brian Perry Charitable Trust the exciting one-day competition is back on 13 February 2016 in Auckland and comprises four zone teams with each including 20 swimmers 15 years and under and 20 swimmers 16 years and over.

The 2015 champions have put together a strong team to defend their title with a number of New Zealand representatives, including world junior champion Gabrielle Fa’amausili (United) and Commonwealth Games swimmers Ewan Jackson (Howick Pakuranga), Samantha Lucie-Smith (Coast) and Laura Quilter (North Shore), featuring in the senior squad.

Adding to the list is 2015 World University Games swimmers Daniel Hunter and Helena Gasson as well as world junior championship swimmers Wilrich Coetzee, Yeonsu Lee and Annabelle Paterson.

There is also plenty of strength in the junior squad with swimmers including last year’s leading male individual medallist at the New Zealand Age Group Championships Ikko Shibuya (Mt Eden) and multiple New Zealand age group record holder Ra’eez Warley (North Shore).

Auckland’s United and North Shore clubs have the strongest representation in the make-up of the team with 10 swimmers coming from the North Shore and 11 from United.

The 2016 Zonal Championships will take place at the Sir Owen G Glenn National Aquatic Centre in Auckland on Saturday 13 February and will be live on Sky Sport 4 from 5.00pm with 160 swimmers vying it out for their respective zones.

Senior Team: Daniel Hunter (Howick Pakuranga), Ewan Jackson (Howick Pakuranga), Tom Moulder (Parnell), Wilrich Coetzee (North Shore), Jacob Garrod (North Shore), Max Polianski (United), Callum Prime (Northwave), Corneille Coetzee (North Shore), Koene Smit (North Shore), Daniel Gregory-Campbell (United), Yeonsu Lee (North Shore), Laura Quilter (North Shore), Samantha Lucie-Smith (Coast), Hayley McIntosh (Northwave), Gabrielle Fa’amausili (United), Mary Tate (United), Helena Gasson (North Shore), Holly Parker (United), Annabelle Paterson (United) and Tracey Keith-Matchitt (Howick Pakuranga).

Junior Team: Tyron Henry (Howick Pakuranga), Ikko Shibuya (Mt Eden), George Smith (United), Flynn Oberdries (Roskill), Zac Dell (Pukekohe), Jordan Wilson (Parnell), Bailey Wang (North Shore), Jack Kelleher (North Shore), Thomas Hughson (Howick Pakuranga), Ra’eez Warley (North Shore), Kyla Alexander (United), Madeline Falconer (United), Summer Miln (United), Lauren Harrower (North Shore), Rebecca Cheyne (Pukekohe), Conor Tarrant (United), Kiana Swain (Pukekohe), Ellie Eastwood (Northwave), Victoria McTeigue (Coast) and Eve Thomas (Coast).

CAPTION: Gabrielle Fa'amausili in action.

NZ Zonal Championships