Swimming New Zealand homepage

The start of something extraordinary

Swimmers Recognised at Marriotts Hadlee Sports Awards

A number of Cantabrian Swimmers and Officials were recognised on Friday 14 February at the annual Marriotts Hadlee Sports Awards in Christchurch which celebrates the success of Canterbury’s outstanding sportspeople, teams, coaches and administrators.

Award winner’s included Sophie Pascoe for Action Indoor Sports Stadiums Sportswoman of the Year, QEII Swim Club Incorporated for the Lincoln University Junior Sports Team of the Year, Roly Crichton, who was credited for his efforts in coaching both Pascoe and the junior QEII swim team in winning the UC Education Sports Coach of the Year, Leslie Huckens for Gary Cockram Hyundai Sports Official of the Year, Matthew Ingram for the CPIT Science of Sport Award and Marlene Morrison who received a Young Hunter Lifetime Achievement Award for her continuous dedication and involvement in all aspects of swimming.

Notable mentions go to the other swimming nominees from the night Jacquelyn Ruth who was nominated for the Anstiss & Associates Sports Person or Team with a Disability of the Year, Natasha Lloyd for the ASB Young Sportswoman of the Year and George Schroder who was a nomination for the Superior Turf Solutions Young Sportsman of the Year.