Swimming New Zealand homepage

The start of something extraordinary


The 2018 Junior Pan Pacific Championships started today, with the Kiwi team putting in strong performances in the heats to qualify nine swimmers for the evening finals (4 A-finals and 5 B-finals).

In the morning heats Erika Fairweather (Neptune) broke her own 14 years national age-group record in the 200m freestyle. Fairweather’s time of 2:02.11s qualified her in 6th position for the A-final.

In the evening final, Fairweather held pace with the top qualifiers through the first 100m before the American, Australian and Japanese duos started to pull clear.

Fairweather finished 7th in 2:02.32s. The final was won by Claire Tuggle (USA) in 1:58.58s followed by Lani Pallister (AUS) in 1:59.00s and Nagisa Ikimoto (JPN) 1:59.02s.

Chelsey Edwards (SwimZone) qualified for the B-final and finished 13th overall in 2:03.67s. Amadika Atkinson (North Shore) posted 2:05.63s in the heats but did not progress.

Zac Reid (Aquabladz) smashed his personal best in the heats of the men’s 200m freestyle, qualifying third for the A-final in 1:50.06s.

In the A-final Reid posted another personal best in just missing out on a medal in finishing fourth in 1.49.36s, shaving just under a second off his PB on day 1.

Drew Kibler (USA) won the gold in 1:47.37s a new Junior Pan Pacific record. Jake Magahey (USA) was second in 1:48.67s and Keisuke Ishizaki (JPN) third in 1:49.16s.

Tyron Henry (HPK) contested the B-Final and posted 1:56.86s following a 1:54.60s in the morning heats.

Gina Galloway (United) was the fastest of the Kiwi trio from the morning heats. Her time of 1:02.66s was good enough to qualify 5th for the evening A-final.

In the A-final Galloway turned in 5th place at the halfway mark and remained in that position at the finish (1:02.62s) before being elevated to 4th following a disqualification to Canadian Maude Boily-Dufour.

It was a 1-2 finish for the USA with Phoebe Bacon (59.72s) out touching her team mate Kathrine Berkoff (1:00.16s) with Madison Broad (CAN) third in 1:00.53s. In the morning heats Berkoff set a new Junior Pan Pacs record of 59.59s.

In the B-final Kyla Alexander (United) was 5th in 1:04.31s and Greta Agnew (United) 8th in 1:05.71s.

Thomas Watkins (Capital) was New Zealand’s sole representative in the men’s 100m backstroke. Watkins qualified for the B-final and touched the wall in 57.49s, slightly slower than his heat time of 57.39s.

Lochlainn O’Connor smashed his PB by 0.95s in the morning heats of the men’s 200m butterfly with a time of 2:03.80s to qualify for the A-final in 7th place.

In the final, American Gianluca Urlando was a full body length clear of the field by the half way mark and finish over a second (1:56.25s) ahead of team mate Van Mathias who won silver in 1:57.64s.

Tomoru Honda (JPN) was third in 1:58.70s with O’Connor further back in 7th place with a time of 2:03.80s.

The 4x100m mixed medley relay team of Gina Galloway, Matthew Holder, Hannah Bates and Michael Pickett finished 5th in 3:57.34s. Pickett posted a blistering freestyle leg split time of 49.88s.

The medals went to USA-A (3:47.01s), Canada-A (3:51.27s) and Japan (3:53.72s).

Earlier in the day, Hannah Bates (Aquagym) recorded a 2:23.49s in her heat of the women’s 200m butterfly whilst Eve Thomas (Coast) finished 10th overall in the women’s 800m freestyle (TF) with a time of 9:06.83s.

In the men’s 1500m freestyle (TF) Quinton Hurley (Jasi) was 13th in 16:04.78s with team mate Paddy Baylis (Swim Rotorua) 14th in 16:06.55s.


Women’s 200m Freestyle
Amadika Atkinson. Time: 2:05.63s
Chelsey Edwards. Time: 2:05.01s *Qualifies for B Final
Erika Fairweather. Time: 2:02.11 (PB + NZ Age Rec 14 years) *Qualifies for A Final

Men’s 200m Freestyle
Zac Reid. Time: 1:50.06s (PB) *Qualifies for A Final.

Tyron Henry. Time: 1:54.60s *Qualifies for B Final.

Women’s 100m back.
Gina Galloway. Time: 1:02.66s *Qualifies for A Final

Kyla Alexander. Time: 1:03.97s *Qualifies for B Final
Greta Agnew. Time: 1:05.74s *Qualifies for B Final

Men’s 100m back.
Thomas Watkins. Time: 57.39s *Qualifies for B Final.

Women’s 200m fly.
Hannah Bates. Time: 2:23.49s.

Men’s 200m fly.
Lochlainn O’Connor. Time: 2.03.25s (PB) *Qualifies for A Final

Women’s 800m free.
Eve Thomas. Time: 9:06.83s.

Men’s 1500m free.
Quinton Hurley. Time: 16:04.78s
Paddy Baylis. Time: 16:06.55s.


Women’s 200m Freestyle
B-FINAL - Chelsey Edwards. Time: 2:03.67s.

A-FINAL - Erika Fairweather. Time: 2:02.32s. 7th Place.

Men’s 200m Freestyle
B-FINAL - Tyron Henry. Time: 1:56.86s.

A-FINAL - Zac Reid. Time: 1:49.36s. PB. 4th place.

Women’s 100m back.
B-FINAL - Kyla Alexander. Time: 1:04.31s. Greta Agnew. Time: 1:05.71s.

A-FINAL - Gina Galloway. Time: 1:02.62s. 4th place.

Men’s 100m back.
B-FINAL - Thomas Watkins. Time: 57.49s.

Men’s 200m fly.
A-FINAL - Lochlainn O’Connor. Time: 2:03.80s. 7th place.

4x100m Mixed Medley Relay
Galloway, Holder, Bates, Pickett. Time: 3:57.34s. 5th place.