Swimming New Zealand homepage

The start of something extraordinary


Michael Pickett smashed his personal best and set a national age-group record of 22.86s on the way to winning a bronze medal in the men’s 50m freestyle at the 2018 Junior Pan Pacific Championships.

In the final, Australia’s Ashton Brinkworth established an early lead to charge into the wall and win gold in 22.72s. American Drew Kibler who earlier in the meet won the 100m and 200m titles, out touched Pickett to win silver in 22.81s.

Pickett’s time broke Orinoco Fa’amausili-Banse’s 50m freestyle 16 years national age-group record of 22.98s set in 2007.

Speaking after the race about dipping under the 23 second barrier twice today, Pickett credited his coach and training programme.

“It felt so good to win a medal and PB twice today, I also have to give a special mention to my coach John Gatfield and the coaches at St Peter’s Western (Brisbane) for their part in my training programme and getting me race ready.”

Pickett added that today’s win is part of a bigger plan.

“What we’ve been working on is also about the Youth Olympic Games in October, it’s great to get a medal, but next week it’s back to training for a bigger goal.”

Pickett will join Zac Reid, Gina Galloway and Erika Fairweather on the swim team for the 2018 Youth Olympic Games in October.

Chelsey Edwards (SwimZone) also made the A-final for the women’s 50m freestyle event, finishing 8th in 26.60s.

Maxine Parker (USA) won gold in 25.39s ahead of team mate Gretchen Walsh (USA), 25.57s and fastest qualifier Natasha Ramsden (AUS), who won bronze in 25.65s.

Edwards also swum the anchor leg in the women’s 4x100m medley relay team. The Kiwi quartet of Gina Galloway (United), Hannah Bates (Aquagym), Ciara Smith (Northwave) and Edwards finished 5th in 4:15.20s.

Matthew Holder (United) finished 8th in the men’s 200m breaststroke A-final in 2:26.68s.

Daniel Roy (USA) won gold in 2:11.79 with silver going to AJ Pouch (2:11.80s), and bronze to Yamato Fukasawa (JPN) in 2:13.57s.

Later in the session Holder and Pickett join Thomas Watkins (Capital) and Lochlainn O’Connor (Greerton) on the men’s 4x100m medley relay team. NZ finished 5th in 3:48.09s.

Four Kiwis featured in B-finals tonight.  Tyron Henry (HPK) finished 14th overall in the men’s 50m freestyle in 24.07s.

In the women’s 200m individual medley Gina McCarthy (Hillcrest) finished 13th with a finals time of 2:19.99s. Hannah Bates (Aquagym) finished one place back in 14th with a time of 2:20.13s.

Smith (Northwave) went faster than her heat time to finish 7th (15th overall) in the women’s 200m breaststroke B-final in a time of 2:36.72s


Women’s 200m Individual Medley.
Erika Fairweather. Time: 2:24.26s. *added to B-final.

Greta Agnew. Time:2:30.10s.
Gina Galloway. Time: 2:24.62s. PB   
Gina McCarthy. Time: 2:22.78s. *qualifies for B-final.
Hannah Bates. Time: 2:21.92s. *qualifies for B-final.

Men’s 200m Individual Medley.
Lochlainn O’Connor. Time: 2:15.83s. *1st reserve for B-final.

Women’s 50m Freestyle.
Gina Galloway. Time: 27.61s PB.
Kyla Alexander. Time: 27.27s.

Amadika Atkinson. Time: 27.27s.
Chelsey Edwards. Time: 26.56s. *qualifies for A-final. 

Men’s 50m Freestyle.
Michael Pickett. Time: 22.99s. PB. *qualifies for A-final.
Tyron Henry. Time: 23.80s. *qualifies for B-final.

Women’s 200m Breaststroke.
Ciara Smith. Time: 2:38.18s. *qualifies for B-final.

Men’s 200m Breaststroke.
Matthew Holder. Time: 2:27.43S. *qualifies for A-final.

Men’s 800m Freestyle
Quinton Hurley. Time: 8:20.46s.

Matthew Holder. Time: 8:27.49s.


Women’s 200m Individual Medley.
B-FINAL: Gina McCarthy. Time: 2:19.99s, Hannah Bates. Time: 2:20.00, Erika Fairweather. Time: 2:22.19s.

Women’s 50m Freestyle.
B-FINAL: Chelsey Edwards. Time: 26.60s.

Men’s 50m Freestyle.
A-FINAL: Michael Pickett. Time: 22.86s. PB, NZ Age-group record.
B-FINAL: Tyron Henry. Time: 24.07s.

Women’s 200m Breaststroke.
B-FINAL: Ciara Smith. Time: 2:36.72s.

Men’s 200m Breaststroke.
A-FINAL: Matthew Holder. Time: 2:26.68s.

4x100m Medley Relay.
NZ Women’s - 1) Gina Galloway 2) Hannah Bates 3) Ciara Smith 4) Chelsey Edwards. Time: 4:15.20s.

NZ Men’s - 1) Thomas Watkins 2) Lochlainn O’Connor 3) Matthew Holder 4) Michael Pickett. Time: 3:48.09s.

Important Links for the 2018 Junior Pan Pacific Championships 

  •       High Performance Swimming NZ Facebook page
  •       Swimming New Zealand Instagram.
  •       Swimming New Zealand Twitter

    Click HERE for event psych sheets. 

    Click HERE for event Facebook page.