Swimming New Zealand homepage

The start of something extraordinary

Commonwealth swimmers lead Harlequins in Zonal Championships

Swimmers from eight clubs throughout Counties Manukau, Auckland and Northland have been selected to represent the Harlequins swim team for the second edition of the Zonal Championships.

The exciting one-day competition on 8 February in Auckland comprises four zone teams with each including 20 swimmers 15 years and under and 20 swimmers 16 years and over. The competition, which will pit the best of each age group from throughout the country, proved an outstanding success in his its debut 15 months ago and with the generous support of long time swimming supporter, The Brian Perry Charitable Trust, is back in 2015.

The Harlequins have fielded a strong senior team with three 2014 Commonwealth Games team members, Steven Kent, Laura Quilter and Ewan Jackson featuring in the line-up.

Adding to their strength is 2014 Junior Pan Pacific swimmer Dominic Mildon and Youth Olympic Games team member Jacob Garrod.

In the junior squad sensational 15 year old swimmer Gabrielle Fa’amausili, who was a bronze medallist at last year’s Youth Commonwealth Games, will lead the way while North Shore’s Yeonsu Lee, who topped the individual medal tally at the 2014 New Zealand Age Group Championships, will also be a strong asset for the team.

Auckland’s North Shore Swimming Club has the strongest showing in the make-up of the Harlequins zonal team with 15 swimmers from the club in the line-up. United and Howick Pakuranga also having a strong influence in the make-up of the team.

The 2015 Zonal Championships will take place at Auckland’s Westwave Aquatic Centre on Sunday 8 February and will be live on Sky Sport 4 from 5.00pm with 160 swimmers vying it out for their respective zones.

The 2015 Harlequins team is:

Senior: Max Polianksi (United), Dominic Mildon (Howick Pakuranga), Neilson Varoy (Parnell), Daniel Hunter (Howick Pakuranga), Steven Kent (Coast), Wilrich Coetzee (North Shore), Jacob Garrod (North Shore), Michael Dai (Coast ), Ewan Jackson (Howick Pakuranga), Mario Konisperger (Howick Pakuranga), Holly Parker (United), Monique King (North Shore), Hayley Edmond (North Shore), Laura Quilter (North Shore),  Annabelle Paterson (United), Caitlinn Mann (Roskill), Abbie Johnston (North Shore), Sophie Wotherspoon (North Shore), Rachel Smith (North Shore), Simone Cowling (Pukekohe).

Junior: Flynn Jones (North Shore), Sebastien Priscott (Waterhole ), Finn Kennard-Campbell (North Shore), Callum Prime (Northwave), Bailey Wang (North Shore), Jordan Wilson (Parnell), Thomas Hughson (Howick Pakuranga), Jason Churches (North Shore), Jack Kelleher (North Shore), Leo Tattersfield (United), Yeonsu Lee (North Shore), Jacey Cropp (North Shore) Gabrielle Fa’amausili (Roskill), Hayley McIntosh (Northwave), Victoria McTeigue (Coast), Mikayla Dance (Howick Pakuranga), Simone Lusby (United), Ella Drinnan (North Shore), Ellie Eastwood (Northwave).

Coaches: David Lyles, Cameron Stanley, Josh Munro, Monica Cooper

CAPTION: Steven Kent in action. (Credit: BW Media)

NZ Zonal Championships