Swimming New Zealand homepage

The start of something extraordinary

Age group swimmers head to Sydney

A group of New Zealand age group swimmers will get a taste of international racing next week as they head across the ditch for the Australian Age Group Championships.

The twelve swimmers aged 13 to 16 years old will travel to Sydney as part of the Swimming New Zealand 2015 Australian Age Championship team this Saturday.

Leading the way for the team is Tasman swimmer Sam McKenzie who was a medallist at last year’s event in the 100m freestyle where he also set the New Zealand 14 years age group record.

McKenzie, 15, will be hoping for solid results again against his Australian rivals being seeded in the top 10 for each of his individual swims.

Team leader and Head Coach Gary Hurring stated “I am very excited about the prospects and opportunities for this future crop of age group swimmers that are coming from all over NZ.

“For many of this group this is their first national team, and first experience of competing internationally.

‘We believe that we can set a pathway and culture within the squad that will reflect the NZ Olympic team key values of `Performance Pride and Respect’.

Racing against the Australians is always an exciting opportunity, and we are expecting this team to compete with confidence and desire.”

As well as adding international racing experience to their portfolio the championships will give the swimmers a chance for great racing practice ahead of the New Zealand Age Group Championships in May.

More information and live results can be found here with updates also on the Swimming New Zealand website. The championships run from the 13th to 18th April at Sydney Olympic Park Aquatic Centre.

2015 Australian Age Group team

Females: Ruby Adsett (Napier Aquahawks), Caitlin Delany (Tasman), Chelsey Edwards (SwimZone Racing), Elena Forlong (Wanganui) Clara Foster (Nelson), Annabelle Paterson (United), Shannon Schmanski (Wanganui)

Males: Joshua Gilbert (Stratford), Thomas Heaton (Tasman), Samuel McKenzie (Tasman), Zac Reid (Aquabladz), Joshua Taylor-Martin (Enterprise).

Coaching team: Gary Hurring, Andy Adair, Gary Martin