Swimming New Zealand homepage

The start of something extraordinary

Items per page:


12TH FINA World Championships (2007) - Australia

The FINA World Championships are contested in a long course (50-meter) pool. The event was first held in 1973 and is now held every two years. From 1978-1998, the World Championships were held every four years, in the even years between Summer Olympic years. From 2001 on, the Championships have been held every two years, in the odd years. A total of 2,158 athletes from 167 nations will participate in the 2007 Worlds.

Read More

2007 Australian Youth Olympic Festival

The Australian Youth Olympic Festival (AYOF) is an international multi-sport competition. 20 countries will participate in the games in 16 sporting events.

Read More

2007 Junior Pan Pacific Swimming Championships - Hawaii

The Junior Pan Pacific Championships comprises full strength teams from the Pacific Rim including USA, Canada, Japan, Australia and New Zealand. This is the 2nd Junior Pan Pacific Championships. Countries from all over the Pacific will send elite swimmers under 18 who have not represented their countries in international competition nor attended their country's' Olympic Trials.

Read More

4TH FINA World Open Water Swimming Championships - Italy

The FINA World Open Water Swimming Championships, or more commonly "Open Water Worlds", is a bi-annual FINA championship for open water swimming. Race distances are 5, 10 and 25 kilometers.

Read More

I FINA Youth World Swimming Championships - Brazil

The I FINA World Youth Swimming Championships, more commonly referred to as the 2006 Youth Worlds, is being from August 22–27 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. This is the first time the event is being held. Participants have to be 17 years or younger on the 31 December 2006.

Read More

2006 Pan Pacific Swimming Championships - Canada

The Pan Pacific Swimming Championships is a long course swimming event first held in 1985. The tenth edition of the Pan Pacific Swimming Championships, is being held in 2006 in Victoria, British Columbia, Canada, from August 17–20.

Read More

6TH Oceania Championships - Australia

The 2006 Oceania Swimming Championships are being held from 7-16 July at three locations in Queensland, Australia. This is the sixth edition of the Championships, and features competitions in swimming, open water swimming and synchronized swimming (synchro).

Read More

8TH FINA World Short Course Championships (2006) - China

Organised in even years, the FINA World Swimming Championships (25m) gather the world's fastest swimmers for a five-day, top-level showdown in 25-metre pool.

Read More

Melbourne 2006 Commonwealth Games

The Commonwealth Games is a unique, friendly, world class, multi-sports Games, which is held once every four years. The 2006 Commonwealth Games will include 17 sports, with 12 individual sports and 4 team sports. In total there are 245 events at the Games. The mascot for the games was Karak, a Red-tailed Black Cockatoo.

Read More